2012 YEAR IN REVIEW

2012, the year I will always remember as the one where I regained my freedom.

Yes, I had just recently cut loose the shackles that is Boarding School and here I was ready to do something new with my life-or so my New Years Resolutions claimed.

JANUARY-After spending the last four years being forced to wake up at odd hrs in the morning 7 days a week, I decided it was time for me to sit back, relax and enjoy. So I quickly changed my ringtone and voice mail to reflect my mood [i.e. Bruno Mars-The Lazy Song] and thus began one of the laziest months of my life. I qucikly settled into a sleep—>eat–>surf routine and blocked out the rest of the world. Four weeks and a couple of showers later I was once again in need of himan interaction and thus began

FEBRUARY-With the Kenyan system of admitting one into university almost 2 years after high school (especially since UoN the only Universlty in Kenya to have caught my eye had rjected the new double intake system to admit my year into university one year earlier) it was time for me to find something to occupy my time with. I knew that with the competitive job market in Kenya, I had to study at least one proffesional course besides my degree but I was not yet mentally prepared to deal with the rigors and hardships of KASNEBs full time courses and exams so I took another route. Together with my best friend, [another lost soul] I enrolled for a beginners Spanish class that was not only fun but had only three classes a week. By this time, the period of blissful ignorance was quickly disappearing as my year had already recived the news that our KCSE results would be published by the Ministry of Education at the beginning of march.

Untitled

MARCH-A month that will be remembered both on a low and high note. I was ecstatic as I received wonderful news about my final results from high school. I was all set to move forward with no regrets from my high school chapter now and look to the future. However tragedy struck as I lost a close family member at the same time due to a trafic accident. George Wachira Waithaka, you will always be remembered for your kindness, vibrant personality and  with love from all us. Your memory will live on forever in our hearts.

http://www.facebook.com/groups/309810435746386/

APRIL-As with every year, April was all about my birthday and I was determoned to prolong it and therefore planned a party two weeks after the actual date. I WAS FINALLY 18 and couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate than with friends and family. Though the party was a huge success, I’ll always remember other parts including the blackout caused by the huge hailstorm that afternoon and getting completely drenched running through the rain with a couple of friends.

Capture

MAY TO JUNE-Both these months were largely uneventful and simply consisted of road trips between home and college as I aimed to complete my beginners Spanish class. Yo no puedo hablar español muy bien pero trato de practicar mucho todos los dias! ¡Español es muy interestante!

4322401787_learning_spanish_chalkboard_answer_2_xlarge

JULY-I couldn’t afford to miss yet another KASNEB semester and this time around High School Blues could not be named as an excused. I therefore enrolled to Cornerstone college and began the professional course CICT. This was after I had decided that I would be pursuing a Bachelor Degree in Electronics Engineering at the University of Nairobi the following May. This was therefore a busy month for me as I juggled the two courses and boy… was I tired.

AUGUST-This month, just like the rest of the world was all about the Olympics for me. Though I quickly found myself waiting for the next one instead of cherishing the current one due to a dismal perfomance by Team Kenya which had been widely expected to soar. One highlight was however David Rudisha’s record breaking 800 metre run.

Olympics Day 13 - Athletics

SEPTEMBER-By this time I had gotten the hang on my routine with full time classes. I also quickly got involved in following the new Barclays Premier League season that had come back with a bang.

480582_499672083399496_1120313262_n

OCTOBER TO NOVEMBER-Once again largely uuneventful. Besides classes I spent time with friends and family, enjoyed football, tried to blog…..

DECEMBER-I was officially done with the first semester of college and was home for a month holiday. *EXCITEMENT* This was a month mostly spent out with friends, family and the internet. Was in summary an exciting month not in a small part due to the Mayans and their damned predictions.

tumblr_mfdflemB5U1ru2qjro1_1280

THE YEAR IS OFFICIALLY OVER AND AS I DEBATE WHETHER OR NOT TO DEAL WITH THE DISAPPOINTMENTS OF FAILING TO FULFIL MY NEW YEARS RESOLURIONS, I SIT HERE THANKFUL TO MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY FOR THE YEAR 2012 AND MOSTLY TO GOD FOR GETTING ME THROUGH IT SAFE AND SOUND.

CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

